The New Shape of Europe

From 23rd to 26th May 2019, people in the EU voted for the New European Parliament. After many months of campaigning, the New European Parliament has been formed and with over two-thirds of MEPs newly elected, we’ve seen significant shifts in the composition of Parliament with all the party groups facing upheaval.


2-3-4 July 2019 - First Plenary session of the new EP
The 9th legislature of the European Parliament is officially constituted in Strasbourg.
- New Parliament Bureau: the new President Mr David Maria Sassoli is elected, as well as the rest of the Parliament Bureau consisting of 14 Vice-Presidents and 5 Quaestors (all elected for 2.5 years, renewable)
- Parliament Committees: MEPs also voted on the size of Parliament’s 20 committees and 2 subcommittees and their composition is confirmed by political groups.


July 2019 - European Council Nomination Process
The European Council plays a big part in appointing high-profile EU-level roles. On this day, it elects Mr Charles Michel as its new President and proposes several candidates for the other Institutions:
Mrs Ursula von der Leyen as President of the European Commission;
Mr Josep Borrell Fontelles as High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy;
Mrs Christine Lagarde as President of the European Central Bank

Discover more on the Nomination process for new heads of EU Institutions!

15-18 July 2019 - Second Plenary session of the EP
The European Parliament elects Mrs Ursula von der Leyen new President of the next European Commission.
The EP's 44 interparliamentary delegations are established with the objective of maintaining relations with parliamentarians in other countries, regions and organisations.

Future steps: Towards a new Commission (2019-2024)

August 2019 - First stage: List
The Commission President Mrs Ursula von der Leyen will send official letters to the Member States' Heads of State or Government inviting them to propose their candidates as Members of the EU Commission. The Council, in agreement with the EU Commission's President, will adopt a list of candidate Commissioners, one for each Member State.

September 2019 - Second stage: Hearings
Each Commissioner-designate must:
- Respond to 5 questions from MEPs in writing;
- Attend 3h hearing organised by EP Committees.

October 2019 - Third stage: Approval
The full Commission, including the Commission's President and the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, will need to be approved in a single vote of consent by Parliament. After this approval, they will be formally appointed by the European Council, acting by a qualified majority.

The new EU Tob Jobs are likely to be:

If you want to have more info on the outcomes of the EP Elections of May 2019 and the appointment of the EU Top Jobs, check out UNIEP's Special Edition Newsletters of July 2019! You can download them here.


Back to overview